Federal Skilled Trade Program is the one of the express entry program. Under the recently created Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTC), one is able to obtain permanent residency in Canada by working in a specific trade. The objective of the FSTC is to meet the demands of the Canadian workforce.

Federal Skilled Trades Program

Federal Skilled Trade Program

Minimum Requirements to Qualify for FSTC Program
In order to be eligible for the Federal Skilled Trades Program, an applicant must:
1. Have offers of employment from up to two employers in Canada of at least one year duration OR a Certificate of Qualification from a provincial or territorial body
2. Provide proof of basic language proficiency from a designated language testing organization, demonstrating that the applicant meets the minimum threshold
3. Have obtained twenty-four months of qualified work experience in the skilled trade in the last five years; and
4. Be able to demonstrate the skills and experience and that they have performed the essential duties of the occupation.

Trade Categories: Skilled Trades currently eligible for the Federal Skilled Trade Program are categorized under these major and minor group of the NOC:
(a) Major Group 72: Industrial, electrical and construction trade
(b) Major Group 73: Maintenance and equipment operation trades
(c) Major Group 82: Supervisor and technical jobs in natural resources, agricultural and related production
(d) Major Group 92: Processing, manufacturing and utilities supervisors and central control operators
(e) Minor Group 632, chefs and cooks, and
(f) Minor Group 633, butchers and bakers.